Distinguished Award Papers

The 26th ACM Joint European Software Engineering Conference and Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering (ESEC/FSE) is pleased to announce the details of the Distinguished Paper Awards as follows:

James Davis, Christy Coghlan, Francisco Servant and Dongyoon Lee
The Impact of Regular Expression Denial of Service (ReDoS) in Practice: an Empirical Study at the Ecosystem Scale

Shengjian Guo, Meng Wu and Chao Wang Adversarial Symbolic Execution for Detecting Concurrency-related Cache Timing Leaks

Dileep Kini, Umang Mathur and Mahesh Viswanathan
Data Race Detection on Compressed Traces

Felix Pauck, Eric Bodden and Heike Wehrheim Do Android Taint Analysis Tools Keep their Promises?

Yu Gao, Wensheng Dou, Feng Qin, Chushu Gao, Dong Wang, Jun Wei, Ruirui Huang, Li Zhou and Yongming Wu
An Empirical Study on Crash Recovery Bugs in Large-Scale Distributed Systems

Vaibhav Saini, Farima Farmahini Farahani, Yadong Lu, Pierre Baldi and Cristina Lopes
Oreo: Detection of Clones in the Twilight Zone

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to the program committee. More details on the complete program for 2018 may be found at: https://2018.fseconference.org/track/fse-2018-research-papers#program

Test of Time Awards

The ESEC/FSE Test of Time award for 2018 (for papers from 2008) goes to the following two papers:

ACM Student Research Competition

The SRC was organized by Gustavo Soares and sponsored by Microsoft. First, second, and third place winners all received a medal at the Thursday morning opening.

Undergraduate Students

  • First place: David A Tomassi, Bugs in the Wild: Examining the Effectiveness of Static Analyzers at Finding Real-World Bugs
  • Second place: Vaastav Anand, Dara - Hybrid Model Checking of Distributed Systems
  • Third place: Neill Robson, Diversity and Decorum in Open Source Communities

Graduate Students

  • First place: Daniel DeFreez, Mining Error-Handling Specifications for Systems Software
  • Second place: Ameya Ketkar, Type Migration in Large-Scale Code Bases
  • Third place: Son Nguyen, Feature-Interaction Aware Configuration Prioritization