ESEC/FSE 2018 solicits proposals for workshops to be held in conjunction with the main conference. Workshops aim to provide opportunities for exchanging views, advancing ideas, and discussing preliminary results in various areas of software engineering research and applications. Workshops are not an alternative forum for presenting full research papers. If you would like to bring together a group of researchers on a relevant and exciting topic, please submit a workshop proposal to ESEC/FSE. Workshops will be held in the days before the research track (Nov. 4 and 5). Proposals for workshops after the main track can be considered but are subject to the availability of space. Prospective workshop organizers are encouraged to contact the workshop chairs should any questions arise.

AUTHORS TAKE NOTE: The official publication date is the date the proceedings are made available in the ACM Digital Library. This date may be up to two weeks prior to the first day of your conference. The official publication date affects the deadline for any patent filings related to published work. (For those rare conferences whose proceedings are published in the ACM Digital Library after the conference is over, the official publication date remains the first day of the conference.)

Accepted Workshops

Acronym Full Name Contact Date
EnSEmble Ensemble-based Software Engineering Francesco Nocera (francesco.nocera@poliba.it), Antonio Bucchiarone (bucchiarone@fbk.eu), Marina Mongiello ( marina.mongiello@poliba.it), Michael Sheng (Michael.sheng@mq.edu.au) Nov 4th, 2018
WISE International Workshop on Intelligent Software Engineering Tao Xie (taoxie@illinois.edu), Qianxiang Wang (wangqianxiang@huawei.com) Nov 5th, 2018
JPF The Java Pathfinder Workshop Antonio Filieri (a.filieri@imperial.ac.uk), Reed Milewicz (rmilewi@sandia.gov) Nov 5th, 2018
A-TEST 9th Workshop on Automating TEST case design, selection and evaluation Tanja E. J. Vos (tvos@dsic.upv.es), Wishnu Prasetya (S.W.B.Prasetya@uu.nl), Sigrid Eldh (sigrid.eldh@ericsson.com), Sinem Getir (getir@informatik.hu-berlin.de), Ali Parsai (ali.parsai@uantwerpen.be), Pekka Aho (pekka.aho@ou.nl) Nov 5th, 2018
SWAN 4th International Workshop on Software Analytics Olga Baysal (olga.baysal@carleton.ca), Tim Menzies (tim.menzies@gmail.com), Sonia Haiduc (shaiduc@cs.fsu.edu) Nov 5th, 2018
WASPI 1st International Workshop on Automated Specification Inference Robert Dyer (rdyer@bgsu.edu), Tien Nguyen (tien.n.nguyen@utdallas.edu), Hridesh Rajan (hridesh@iastate.edu), Hoan Nguyen (hoan@iastate.edu), Gary Leavens (leavens@eecs.ucf.edu), Vasant Honavar (vhonavar@ist.psu.edu) Nov 9th, 2018
NL4SE Workshop on NLP for Software Engineering Yijun Yu (y.yu@open.ac.uk), Erik Fredericks (fredericks@oakland.edu), Premkumar Devanbu (ptdevanbu@ucdavis.edu) Nov 4th, 2018

Workshop Proposal Guidelines

  • Workshop proposals must be no more than 4 pages in length and conform to the ACM Conference Format. Each proposal should contain the following information:

    • Contact details of the organizers, including the identification of the main contact.

    • A brief (max 175 words) abstract of the goals and format of the workshop intended for the ESEC/FSE 2018 web pages.

    • The theme, goals, and topics of the workshop, as well as a motivation of its relevance and timeliness, including an account of the workshop’s history (if any).

    • The workshop format, including desired length (1 or 2 days), forms of participation supported (demo, position statement, panel discussion, working session, etc.) and plans for generating and stimulating discussion at the workshop. Specify if the workshop intends to publish its proceedings in the ACM digital library (under negotiation for all ESEC/FSE 2018 workshops).

    • The paper selection procedure, including the types of papers permitted (demos, short, long, position statements, etc. together with page limits), the expected dates for submission and notification of acceptance, names of proposed and confirmed program committee members.

    • A short description of the workshop and a link to a detailed workshop web page to be used on the ESEC/FSE 2018 web page.

    • Publicity plans, including a motivated assessment of the number of expected participants, as well as the participant solicitation and selection process (also indicate whether the workshop will be open or closed).

    • Follow-up plans, explaining how the workshop results are expected to be used.

  • A brief biography of each organizer, including past experience in workshop organization. Ideally, a workshop proposal should consist of a two-page description (to be included in the conference proceedings, if accepted) and an appendix (up to two pages) containing additional material, if appropriate.

How to submit

Workshop proposals should be submitted via EasyChair.

Important dates

  • Deadline for workshop proposals submission: February 19th, 2018

  • Deadline for notification: March 7th, 2018

  • Deadline for workshop papers submissions are up to workshop chairs. We suggest the following:

    • Workshop papers submission: July 27th, 2018

    • Workshop papers notification: August 24th, 2018

    • Workshop papers camera-ready: September 18th, 2018

  • ESEC/FSE 2018 Conference Days: Nov 4th - 9th, 2018

  • Workshop Days at ESEC/FSE 2018: Nov 4th and Nov 5th, 2018

The camera ready deadline is firm, if you want to publish workshop papers in the conference proceedings and the ACM Digital Library.